About us



In August, 1992, God in His own wisdom and working through the Tema Industrial Chaplaincy and a determined group of Christians, planted the seed for the Tema Joint Church Congregation. The motivating factor was the desire for an ecumenical English-speaking and shorter services to serve all persons living in and around Tema.

The first service was held on Sunday, 2nd August, 1992, at the Joint Church Centre, Tema. Since then, the number of worshippers has increased steadily. The Church expresses its faith through Bible Studies and Worship, Wednesday Teaching Service, Friday Morning Devotion, prayer meetings and the work of the various groups and committees, namely, the Men’s Fellowship, the Ladies’ Fellowship, the Young Adults’ Fellowship, the Youth Fellowship, the Junior Youth and Children’s Service, the Music Ministry, the Social Action Ministry, the Welfare Ministry, the Evangelism and Discipleship Ministry, the Worship and ICT Committee, the the Finance Committee, the Property, Building and Transport Committee, the Joint News Editorial Board, the Church Partnership Committee and Bible Study Groups that meet once a week in various homes and at the Church premises.

The Church is affiliated to the Christian Council of Ghana and a partner in mission with the Tema Industrial Mission. Under the Church’s current Constitution, the Church has a Board of Trustees consisting of seven (7) members which is the Executive Body of the Church, a Church Council which is the representative body of the Congregation and consists of twenty (20) members as follows: ten (10) elected qualified members, five (5) non-elected representatives of the generational groups of the Church and five (5) ex-officio members namely, the Resident Minister, the two other Ministers, the Immediate Past Council Chairman and the Administrative Secretary.

From a humble beginning in 1992, with a membership of twenty-seven (27) including children, the Tema Joint Church has currently nearly one thousand (1,000) members including children. Most of the worshippers are workers, professional men and women, and students. The Tema Joint Church continues to grow and is thankful to God that He has blessed the Tema Community with an ecumenical Church that is worshipping Him and rendering selfless service to the Community.

The current participating Churches are the Presbyterian Church of Ghana, the Methodist Church Ghana and the Anglican Diocese of Accra. Working with the current Resident Minister, Very Rev. Helena Opoku-Sarkodie of the Methodist Church Ghana are Rev. Timothy Victor Obuobi from the Presbyterian Church of Ghana, and Rev. Canon (CSP) Selwyn Sylvanus Nii Adama Okai from the Anglican Diocese of Accra.

Our Constitution

The Vision of TJC

The vision of the TJC is to bring men, women, youth and children into true fellowship with God so that they can live lives to the fullest in Christ. (“I have come that they might have life and have it to the full.” - John 10:10).

The Mission

The mission of the TJC is to create a dynamic redemptive centre where everyone knows and shares God’s love.

The Church upholds the teachings of Jesus Christ based on faith and belief in the Triune God emphasizing love for God and others, spiritual growth, faithfulness in everyday lives, integrity and honesty, teamwork and passionate worship.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees which is the governing body of the Church consists of seven (7) persons, three (3) of whom were elected from among members of the Church for a term of five (5) years by the Church Council and four (4) other ex-officio members – the Chairman of the Church Council, the Resident Minister, the Church Treasurer and the General Secretary of the Christian Council of Ghana.

The current members of the Board of Trustees are:
  1. Bro. Alexander Dsane – Chairman of Board of Trustees
  2. Bro. Brig. Gen. Joseph Odei – Council Chairman/Member
  3. Bro. Ben Tetteh – Treasurer/Member
  4. Very Rev. Helena Opoku-Sarkodie – Resident Minister/Member
  5. Sis. Sheila Minkah-Premo – Member
  6. Bro. Michael Djan – Member
  7. Rev. Dr. Cyril Fayose – General Secretary of CCG/Member